It’s December, how’d that happen?? – Stacey Broom

Hi everyone,

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything much on the blog so I just wanted to update anyone reading.  It’s a busy time in the Bioethics Centre right now so everyone is super busy.  We have a student submitting her Master of Bioethics and Health Law dissertation tomorrow.  We have a couple of students submitting their Bachelor of Medical Science theses in the next month or two. And then we have two PhD students (one of them is me) submitting in February.  So it’s all structuring, revising, referencing, and proofreading around the office at the moment.  It’s a pretty exciting time.  

Being so close to the end of my PhD is crazy.  It’s scary, but at the same time it’s amazing.  I feel like I can finally see the light at the end of what has been a very long, and often extremely dark, tunnel.  Three years is a long time to stay focused on one topic but my interest has been reignited after having gone through a period of continuously asking myself, what is the point? I think I’ve found the point I’ve been trying to make all along.   My argument has become clear and I feel like the pieces of the puzzle finally fit together.  I’m excited about being able to do things like formatting and referencing, strangely enough.  I thought that they would be arduous, but I suppose that knowing they are among the last things that you do before submitting sort of makes the tasks fun.

That’s all I have for now. I plan on writing far more about my experiences as a PhD student after I submit, so if you’re interested be sure to check back in.  Also, we should have a story or two before Christmas so check back for those too.

-Stacey Broom

Leave a Reply

